WHEN LIFE HANDS YOU LEMONS

Standard

LEMONDADE

a friend of mine reminded me that I had written this piece some time ago. Thank you,  you know who are.

Writing Challenge 3 prompts challenge:

Lemons
Keys
Hair Ties

When life hands you lemons,  make lemonade,” that’s what my Gran always says.

But then these days she says some crazy things. The other day she told me that the car wouldn’t start without hair ties.  What she really meant was it wouldn’t start without the keys.

She does crazy things too, like she puts the keys and her hair ties in the freezer.  Why would you do that?

My Gran has lovely hair, it’s that beautiful white grey, not yucky dull grey.  Her hair is long and she wears it in a plait that hangs down her back.

My Gran likes to wear tied dyed pants and boho tops and leather sandals.  Mum says she is a Hippy  who  hasn’t grown up.  My Mum is very practical.

Mum gets angry at her sometimes because she tells the same stories over and over again.     My Gran loves to tell me stories of when she was growing up, and how she marched down the streets of Melbourne to protest against the Vietnam War.

She talks to me about a coffee shop in Carlton called, The Bread Stick where she used to have lunch every day when she worked at the University.

The pottery shop next door called Portobello Road, where she purchased things for her glory box on lay-by. Then she explained to me what those words meant.

She talks about typewriters and record players. She has an iPod now.   My Gran was smart and funny and laughed a lot.

Now she is sad, and cries and says she feels lost.

My Gran had her beautiful hair cut today because she isn’t well enough to keep it looked after, so Mum took her to get it cut.

My Gran is sick she has a brain illness. Some people call it dementia.  That’s why we sometimes find the keys, the hair ribbons and the lemons in the freezer.

I love my Gran, she isn’t crazy, she is sick.

I asked Gran how she feels and she smiled a sad smile and said, “When life hands you lemons, you make lemonade. What else can you do?”  

 

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. She is a student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) completing Bachelor of Creative Writing. Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la, and their second-hand book shop.

Leave a Reply

