FATHER’S DAY

Standard
FATHER’S DAY

I woke this morning from a beautiful dream

You were standing beside me proud and tall

Tears were glistening in your eyes

You lifted the veil from my face  and said;

“if you are not sure or want to walk away  I will walk with you ”

I smiled and squeezed your hand  and said “Come on Dad lets go,

Today is the first day of the rest of my life”

You kissed  me replaced the veil and holding tightly to my hand

You walked me down the aisle to give me away to the young man patiently waiting.

You were always there when I needed you

Your love was unconditional

I am who am I am because of you

And the trust you placed in me allowing me to grow.

Flash forward forty-seven years

I hold your hand I wipe your tears

I love you more deeply than ever before

But I can’t walk this journey with you

I can hold you and comfort you

I sing the songs we loved

But your grip on my hand lessens

Your chest fails to rise

There is no breath

No more heart- beat

I cannot lift the veil of  death that has claimed you

The clocks have stopped

My first love my dearest Dad

I love you

Happy Fathers Day

Lin.

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. As a mature aged student, she completed a Bachelor of Creative Writing and is now a postgraduate student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC). Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la..

Leave a Reply

