Trials and tribulations of contacting editors

Standard
Trials and tribulations of contacting editors

Yesterday I picked up a new magazine and thought ..Wow I have a story that will fit that.  I checked out their web page for editors details and info on how to submit. Crafted my submission email crossed my  fingers and hit send.  Bang! It bounced back. I checked to see I had copied the email address correctly – well yes I had,  so undeterred I looked up the editors private email and sent it again. Alas and alack it bounced back a second time.  At this point, I was wondering if the universe was trying to tell me something. What to do next.  I took myself off to the publication’s Facebook page and sent a message.  By this time it was after 5.00pm.,  and I asked the question, were they having email problems? I was not expecting an answer until sometime today.

I was beginning to feel that this wasn’t meant to be or this was a trial to see if I would persevere and breach their defensive barrier.  This morning a message arrived giving their web address contact sheet info. No other details just the web address.  OK third time LUCK Y  —  for the third and final time I copied the submission details into the upload area, passed the Spybot test confirming that I am a real person not a robot, hit submit and after watching it take forever to upload have received an email saying my contact has been received. Now I feel that I have breached the summit of Olympus and begin the nail biting anxious  wait for a yes please, no thank you or a stony silence…..everything crossed for a positive response.

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. As a mature aged student, she completed a Bachelor of Creative Writing and is now a postgraduate student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC). Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la..

Leave a Reply

