The Case of the Missing Muse

Standard
The Case of the Missing Muse

This little piece found its beginnings in a series of quick interchanges one Saturday morning, on linebetween myself and Archie a fellow Inkling.  Thank you  Archie, for being my Muse on that day.

Image is    Calliope  Joseph Fagnani  -Calliope was the muse of epic poetry. She’s believed to be Homer’s muse, inspiring the Odyssey & the Iliad.painted mid 1800’s

The case of the missing Muse.

Dear Calliope,

Page empty – mind blank – keyboard silent. My Muse has flown. Crap!

Signed

Frustrated writer

Dear Frustrated Writer

Apologise give her a chance.

Signed

Calliope

Dear Calliope

I will  beg for her return.  Return sweet  Muse and all will be forgiven. Suddenly the words flow from my eager keyboard to fill the empty screen and then my muse starts to yell at me to be quiet as I am disturbing her rest ….sigh. I will wait a while and try again. Alas no luck .It seems our partnership has ended I have been advised to find a new muse

Signed

Frustrated writer

Dear Frustrated Writer

Look for a new Muse. I suggest you place an ad in the Daily Writer.  Your previous work place agreement has been voided. Ensure your terms and remuneration are clearly outlined.

Signed

Calliope

Dear Calliope

I shall give this due consideration. I will draft an advertisement, being more specific in my requirements, writing by 8.30 am and with a clause that states minimum of 2500 words a day output. Not too harsh a request I feel. I will post this in the Muse wanted section of the Daily Writer….Now remuneration. What is the going award for a Muse these days? I have by urgent email applied to the Muse’s Union requesting an update on fees and conditions. Do not want to fall foul of the union. I have expressed my distress that my Muse of many years has fallen by the wayside. When last I checked she was reading The Pilo Family Circus. Perhaps she has decided enough is enough. Should I give her another chance or is there no place in my world for this recalcitrant Muse, But, then the thought of breaking in another sends me crying somewhat hysterically searching for the gin bottle to drown my sorrows . Oh stuff it all we are joined at the hip she can stay! Thank you Calliope for your words of counsel and support…I see things more clearly now.

Signed

Frustrated Writer

 

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. She is a student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) completing Bachelor of Creative Writing. Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la, and their second-hand book shop.

Leave a Reply

