Who is Letitia Fanny Skram?

Standard

For the UTAS course, I am doing over summer session the emphasis is on flash fiction 250 words no more. Thought I would share this and get your feedback.
Part of conversation is asking questions. Imagine that you could talk to one of the characters on your family tree, what kind of questions would you ask them? Imagine the conversation you would have and write a dialogue. Spark What questions would you ask your ancestors if you could? What responses might they give? This ‘time travel’ e-tivity allows you to imagine that conversation: one I’m sure we’ve all dreamed about!

Who was Letitia Fanny?
‘Damn you to hell and back Annie Lennon. Thirty years I’ve searched for you. I find you and more questions. If only life was like the Ancestor ad and you’d pop up and say “Come find me.” ‘
‘Well now, tis that the way it is. What is it you’d be wanting to ask me?’
‘Annie? I’m Linda, your great-great-granddaughter.’
‘I know who you are girl, do you think I’m daft? Ask your questions. We don’t have time to dawdle about.’
‘Can you tell me about Letitia Fanny?’
‘She was born, she died, a wee babe. There’s naught else to tell.’
‘But, when you left GGGranpa Skram you took her with you’
‘Of course I did girl, she was sick. Skram was always away farming and mining. T’would not have been right to have left her with my Margarethe, her nothing but a child herself.’
‘Is that the only reason? ‘
‘What do you mean by that? She was a babe at breast. I could na leave her.’
‘Fred Lennon was boarding with you. His sister’s name was Letitia. Her baby was called Letitia Fanny. Was Fred your little one’s father?’
‘Well, Miss Nosey Parker you’ve been digging the dirt. I suppose there’s no harm in the telling now. My Fred was her daddy. But your gggrandfather, he never let on. He gave her his name and he buried her. I’ve naught more to say on the matter. Remember next time girl, don’t cuss me or I mayn’t answer.’

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. As a mature aged student, she completed a Bachelor of Creative Writing and is now a postgraduate student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC). Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la..

Leave a Reply

