AMALIE TAKE 2

Standard

This is my 250 flash fiction take on Amalie’s death

She is cold, she shivers, and the darkness surrounds her.  This is an inhumane place! 

I am standing here, detached, in the shadows. Why am I here, guarding the frail broken body on the hard metal bed in this cold room?  Her body convulses.  There are two others present, a nurse who tends her and a man who by his dress, I discern he is a priest.  They ignore, me as if I am invisible.  I feel I know her, as I know the body shivering in the bed.  The priest is bored. He is watching the second-hand trail around the huge clock face, waiting for the end. Then he will fulfill his duty and take his leave. He is thoughtful, remembering the first time he met her. Thirty-five years ago.  He was young commencing his ministry in this place. She has been alone for a long time. He composes himself to wait, he owes her that much.

Perhaps now I should introduce myself, I am Amalie Frankenstein-Menz and I am waiting for me to die.

This fragment of my story begins when I married Abel in 1896. He was 60, a widower, I was 30.  Six years later he died, leaving me at the mercy of his children. They were not much older than me and hated me. I was incarcerated in Kew Asylum in 1911, because I did not speak English. I was transferred to Beechworth in 1913. My case was never reviewed. I died February 9, 1948, alone and forgotten.

Primary Sources

NAA: B6531, MP/MENZ AMILIE (sic) Menz  Viewed January 2010

VPRS Kew Asylum/ Hospital for the Insane/Mental/Psychiatric Hospital – VA 2840

VPRS Beechworth Asylum/Hospital for the Insane/Mental/Psychiatric Hospital – VA 2842

VPRS Will Book 1903 87.664 Microfiche, Viewed  September 1990,  Abel Menz

VPRS 1920 Year 1935 to 1952 Reel Number4 Series 24, 1948/133  Inquest Documents Amalie Menz

Victorian Marriage Certificate 1896/ 3490 Abel Menz and Amalie Frankenstein  

Victorian Death Certificate 1903/5998   Able Menz                                            

Victorian Death Certificate 1948/16242 Amalie Frankenstein-Menz

NOTICE administration of estate records Abel Menz, The Victorian Gazette Number 539 May 19, 1948, p. 3304

NAA: B6531, MP/MENZ AMILIE, (sic) Menz  Viewed January 2010

 

Secondary sources

Morse, L 1991, ‘A Brief Window in Time’, The Victorian Genealogy Magazine, Ancestor, Spring Winter. pp.15-16

Morse, L 2015   Amalie’s Hell  Blog  entry  https://justmecreativewriter.wordpress.com/2015/09/20/amalies-hell-working-title/

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. She is a student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) completing Bachelor of Creative Writing. Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la, and their second-hand book shop.

2 responses »

  1. What a great story. I did not see this on the UTAS site – was it there and where if it was? I am in group 2 and I liked the second story that you did not upload this week (3) about her. It was more along the line of story telling…it flowed for me

    Like

Leave a Reply

