Christmas 1917

Standard
Christmas 1917

Christmas 1917

Dear Girlie,

I am now at Camp …………… We have been here 10 days. This is the first opportunity I have had to write since arriving. The train trip was a bit of a lark.  Time is spent   marching and training………  I have found young Bert and made him promise to write to Mother!   Cousin Bill is here too.  Really the best part of Campbell’s Creek Football team is here.  We fielded a team Saturday and beat the City boys, now my knee is playing up. Everyone asks to be remembered to you.  We embark on………………….. on the …………….and we head  for …………………

I know you were unhappy when I enlisted, but like all the other lads, I feel I have to do my bit to help. I will miss spending Christmas with you and New Years Eve. Mother has a present for you. Give her a kiss and I will write when I can. Please write back straight away.  With my deepest love, I remain as ever,

Your affectionate and loving,

Boy

*the accompanying photo would have been taken circa 1930. It shows  Dorothea Morse (nee Bennett) Percival Morse Jean Lillian Morse (Later Barlow) Norman Morse  and  Neil Morse.  Taken 36 Birdwood Street Footscray  Victoria.

 

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. She is a student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) completing Bachelor of Creative Writing. Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la, and their second-hand book shop.

Leave a Reply

