The Bennetts of Campbell’s Creek

Standard

Wow so much is happening and I am getting back into the family history research.  Trying to pick up after 30 years of  bits and pieces of research. Everything is so much easier now as a lot of information is online. But there are traps for players. I use Ancestry to access rate books census documents etc and keep a rudimentary tree  online.  The hints they refer to in the TV advertisement are a real trap. I see trees with surnames I have never heard of linked to mine. This can happen and it is  telling me all sorts of things  that have obviously not been thoroughly researched. In the early days, I made the same mistakes.  Now I work on the assumption that unless I have documentary evidence to substantiate a claim  then it is possibly not correct.   For example,  one of my paternal great-grandmothers  had 4 children and from the birth records it is obvious that they were twins  as the Victorian Birth Deaths and Marriages records record them as follows:

Born to Henry BENNETT  & Nellie BATTS   married 1901/5795

Jack Webster BENNETT   Birth  1914/33603

William James BENNETT    Birth  1914/33604

William James BENNETT Death 1915/ 2524

The twins  had an older sister (Dorothea Isobel) and two  older brothers (Thomas Henry Phillip & Roger Keith ); born  1902,1903 and 1906.

The question that arises is what happened between 1907 and 1914  as there are no other recorded births?    Henry Bennett FamilyGroupRecord

 

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. As a mature aged student, she completed a Bachelor of Creative Writing and is now a postgraduate student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC). Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la..

5 responses »

  1. Lin, I have Dorothy’s Certificate of Baptism (but not Birth Certificate) dated at Campbell’s Creek 5th August 1902, with the birth date of 15th July. Steven

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Steven Having some teething troubles with this site lost your message for a couple of days… Cant pull up the menu on the viewing page either so I may have to reconfigure the platfor,. Thanks for dropping by and I would love a copy of the Bap. cert if you can manage it. Have you seen my other blog justmecreativewriter. There is a lovely story on there that Nana wrote – you may have seen it on Trove. I also found a story about Pa being bitten by a snake and heaps more about the cottage and the relief fund. Do you have a copy of the photo of Pa and Jack Webster.. If you do I would appreciate a copy. Bronwyn invited me to follow her on FB but I cant find her and I dont think she checks her emails in ancestry often. Hope all is well in your world. We have had a few health scares with Bernie and if people tell me its to be expected at his age I will hit them…but I guess it is. I am firing on all cylinders and finish this year and graduate in April and then grauduate studies ….I hope depending on GPAs. Take care Love Lin

      Like

      • Don’t have that photo of Pa and Jack as it is in the Castlemaine Museum blown up as a mural, but there is a newspaper reference to it being taken (with names) on Trove -apparently it was displayed in a shop window. I’ve also ordered two photos (one has arrived) from the War Memorial of Pa at Seymour in 1916, aged 19. Your old email address I hope is still good. Will send you stuff next week.
        Steven

        Like

      • Thanks Steven Appreciate that so much My old email address is still current. Appreciate you following the blog I love Trove and finding the story about Pa and the snake bite and Nana’s Anzac piece. Take care Linda

        Like

Leave a Reply

