Thoughts that fly by my mind

Standard
Thoughts that fly by my mind

Today the challenge is using the same prompt, “Today I notice ……” and to begin each sentence with those words to discover how  my thoughts may be drawn to one thought or another. The trick being to let the words fall where they will without guidance. I guess a little like automatic writing and see what surfaces.  So here goes ……

Day 2 of the challenge…………………Today I notice that I have started writing later than yesterday because the weather is cooler this morning and I slept in. Today I notice that it is much easier to stay abed when it is cold than it is when it is hot and muggy. Today I notice that as I sit and write the sun is coming out, it has been raining and the drops of rain lie nestled in the grass glittering like a million tiny rainbow bubbles. Today I notice that although the sun is shining, as yet there is no warmth  and the breeze flows across the wooden slats of my blinds  and raises goosebumps on my arms.

Today I notice that the breeze is light and barely there like the memory of a lover’s kiss upon the nape of the neck, slight and sweet and treasured. Today I notice that when I sit to write the writing is not as strained as yesterday. Today I notice the absence of sound, the bird calls are quietened and the prayer flags move less eloquently in the breeze.  Today I notice one bird call only as any overlay against the traffic noise.he birds calls. Today I notice the single call Ta whee who, the trill is like the melancholy call of a lover and then the brash pee wee’s strident taweet taweet,cuts across the lover’s cry.

Today I notice that the birds are not as varied or as numerous as they were when first we moved here eight years ago. Today I notice and mourn the passing of the rural peace that we enjoyed when we first came to this place.  Today I notice that the sky remains clear and the air is sweet and breathable and far removed from the petrol-laden fumes of the big cities.

Today I notice  this cleanliness then causes my thoughts to turn to the area 300kms to the north where the air should be as crisp and clean but is fouled from fracking. Today I notice that as my thoughts turn to the desecration of the great Condamine river and the rape of our country by mindless and faceless mining companies that my heart rate has quickened.  Today I notice that I not longer experience the peaceful solitude of writing my thoughts, but instead a heightened sense of anger. Today I notice that my mouth has become dry, my shoulders have tensed my neck has become more rigid and fixed in position.  Today I noticed that my pulse rate has increased and my hearing is more acute and my fingers move faster on the keyboard as my anger builds.  Today I notice that as I write my heart is pounding and my stomach is churning as I think of the methane fires upon the Condamine’s surface and of the unnatural lights and smells that assault the town of Chinchilla.

Today I notice  I am reminded of parables and bible stories where people have sold themselves and their land for the equivalent of thirty pieces of silver with no understanding of what it meant to engage in the idolatry of the 21st Century.

Today I notice and understand their plight and send my prayers skyward from the prayer flags to the heavens that these mining monsters will one day be banished from our lands.

 

The photo is from The Brisbane Times and shows Dayne Pratzky lights methane from the Condamine River.

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. She is a student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) completing Bachelor of Creative Writing. Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la, and their second-hand book shop.

Leave a Reply

