Yesterday I had a dream

Standard

Today I read a blog by a Facebook  friend who is starting her journey into the world of academia and specifically creative writing. She was railing against the constrictions of academic writing  The following is part of my response to her and it has inspired me to write a little of my journey

….Your journey echoes mine own and at 66 years young, here I am in my final year of my Bachelor of Creative Writing. There is light at the end of the tunnel and academic writing continues into your creative writing courses when you are required to write, Critical Reflections and heaven help us all, that monster that looms at the end of your degree THE EXEGESIS, that which accompanies your final creative artifact, telling the world why and how you have written what you have written.  My journey commenced in 2011 and I finish this October. Next April 2017, I will walk across the stage, in cap and gown  to accept my degree from the Chancellor. I will tip my mortar board and switch the tassel to the other side signifying I am a GRADUATE.

The next stage awaits as I enter post-graduate studies. I have  experienced frustration, annoyance, euphoria and run the gamut of all the emotions in between. Believe me, the journey is worthwhile and I have and will treasure every minute. My only regret is I waited so long to start.

Some time ago I sat at Cafe J talking to a friend we  commenced Tertiary Preparation Pathways together.  We were chatting about everything and anything when suddenly she put her coffee down and said, ‘You know Linda, we are living the dream.’  She was correct we are living the dream and what is more curious is that another mature age student had made the same comment a short time before.

I have friends in my age group and friends much younger and who treat me no differently to any other of their peers, except to say every now and again, ‘that’s old person speak.’

I am grateful to the University for the opportunities afforded me and to everyone who has supported me. This journey is for me, it is mine and I have had a lot of help along the way. Would I change anything?  No, every minute has been a moment to savour  and to store away as a cherished memory.  Very simply I don’t want it to end.

graduation

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. She is a student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) completing Bachelor of Creative Writing. Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la, and their second-hand book shop.

Leave a Reply

