AMANDA

Standard
AMANDA

BIRTHDAY MANDY
46 years ago today
I became the luckiest woman
I remember the day as if it were yesterday
Where has the time flown

The first time I held you I cried
I remember your first smile
The first words you spoke
The first time you said I love you Mum

I’ve wished your days away
I couldn’t wait for you to sit up
To crawl and laugh and play
The years have marched on and on

I rocked you when you were ill
I kissed you when you were sweet
The day you climbed into the truck to go to Kindy
Is one I will never forget

You started shool
Off you went in the mists of the Canberra winter
Then to Raymond Terrace and Penang
You never complained and started making friends again

Time is relentless in its passing
Now you are a Mum yourself
You have always made me proud
It has been a privilege to be your Mum
To watch you grow into the wonderful person you have become

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. As a mature aged student, she completed a Bachelor of Creative Writing and is now a postgraduate student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC). Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la..

Leave a Reply

