REGRETS….Yes or No

Standard
REGRETS….Yes  or No

A friend posted a video this morning about living life without regrets.

Living life to the full. I can reflect and say in real terms I have no regrets. The things I cannot control I will not weep over. That would be  wasted energy.  I will express my passions regardless of the outcomes. I have that freedom.

The future lies before me and  I have a supportive partner and family. There are personal hurts and slights, I have made mistakes and  each of those has served a purpose to make me who I am today.

There are things I would like to do but can’t for whatever reason. I would like to be closer to family in terms of distance. Even this separation has a positive side. My partner and I have raised wonderful children who are funny, smart, loving, independent people. They have their own family units and we each of us know that we are only a phone call or a message away.

I would like to see more of my grandchildren. This has not been possible due to aging parents and other constraints. They know I love them and I hope when they are older they will understand that duty is important and that we don’t always get the outcomes we expect in life.

I would like more of this and less of that – but those are material wants and are they really important and the end of the day? Are those wants and desires essential to my being?

I don’t always get it right but I try and that is the important thing .

There are times I wish I had made different choices but I can’t change the past.  To indulge in a series of “I wish I had done this or not done that” is self-destructive. Learn and move on and be grateful for the teaching. Importantly  practice compassion in understanding your own failings.

We are imperfect beings and make mistakes for that is how we learn and grow towards enlightenment.

10525745_146738395496766_2154460950089802710_nEvery day the book of life presents me with a fresh page to write my story .

I do not believe in fate,  I do not believe in predetermination.  I believe all things, all phenomena arise from the mind. The important thing is to develop right view according to Buddhadharma, live correctly, and practice diligently. It is by right view, right living, and right practice that we progress. Belief in fate can lead you in circles, but with Buddhadharma you can take each day and start anew.

‘Who I am today is as a result of who I was yesterday. Who I will be tomorrow is determined by who I am today “

 

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. She is a student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) completing Bachelor of Creative Writing. Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la, and their second-hand book shop.

Leave a Reply

