Vegan or Vegetarian or Meat Eater

Standard

This is something I have struggled with over the years. I am an off again on again vegetarian.  I rationalise it out

  • I don’t eat pork  …well – exception organic free range bacon – how can I give up my bacon  and some smoked ham  (see – already I am in trouble)
  • I do not eat veal at all and never have
  • I do not eat much beef –  grass fed no hormones locally butchered or fully organic when I can find it (in trouble again)
  • Lamb – rarely too expensive
  • Free range organic chickens mostly  .. except when I eat KFC  3 or 4 times a year ….

See how much I struggle.  My body feels better when I don’t eat meat.  I feel lighter and healthier.  There is a huge problem  I don’t like some veggies, am allergic to mushrooms and cannot tolerate a lot of nuts.

Now do you see my dilemma?  Today I found this wonderful post  http://www.lamayeshe.com/article/becoming-vegan-when-vegetarian-not-enough

http://www.lamayeshe.com/article/becoming-vegan-when-vegetarian-not-enough

I am about to give it another try , in the meantime

Milk and dairy – I buy local milk have been to the dairy the cows are free-range  -Cheese is my downfall  and I use Nutlex  – they say they use a small amount of sustainable palm oil  – more issues . Rarely drink milk.

Eggs – free range organic and local (when I can)  but always free range organic  – cheaper than meat.  I used to collect the  eggs on the farm when I was a kid – rationalising  again.

Anyway if you will pardon the pun – food for thought

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. She is a student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC) completing Bachelor of Creative Writing. Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la, and their second-hand book shop.

Leave a Reply

