Vegan or not to Vegan and Hospitals

Standard
Vegan or not to Vegan and Hospitals

I thought I would follow up on my post of 24th of November 2016, about changing to a semi-vegetarian diet. Little did I know what obstacles were going to be hurled at me in the next eight weeks.  And I suspect there are more to come.

It has been eight weeks since I have eaten any red meat, pork or processed meats. Free range chicken and fish are still on the menu. I drink a minimum of two litres of water a day and a very occasional glass of wine  (on my birthday and it was yuk…too sweet) and trying to knock sugar out of my diet. I have dropped 3 kgs and kept it off.

There has been no specific exercise regime. I feel better, fitter and my skin is much clearer.

Now truth time. Here is the crunch. I have fallen off my high pedestal a couple of times. Twice I have been to KFC – once was my birthday and do the four party pies I scoffed at a luncheon count?  How do you forget and just put food in your mouth?  Nah, don’t want to even think about Freud and his theories!

Let me rewind the last three days.  I have tried and been doing reasonably well until my husband became ill and was admitted to ICU on Wednesday.  We had planned to have lunch with my cousin at Coolum Surf Club and instead I ended up following an ambulance all over the Coast as we went from doctors surgery to Nambour Hospital to Buderim Private Hospital.

My husband will go to any lengths to avoid going north of Maroochydore for a family gathering but this is ridiculous.

However, I veer away from my engaging story.  My man remains in ICU  and yesterday the stress got to me.  Are you a comfort eater?  I know I am.

Of course, a stay in hospital involves new PJ’s etc. and now with the attempt to normalise the process, when a person is ambulatory, they are required to don day wear. Now as my man’s shorts and shirts are all a bit worn, this necessitated a trip to the Lowes Menswear at the Plaza to buy some shorts and button through shirts.  Thank you to the lovely sales person who helped me out.  He is covered in wires and hooked up to a slew of monitors at present so button through shirts is a necessity. I also had to provide his medications.  This also precipitated some retail therapy for me.  The result, three pairs of lightweight shorts, two shirts and a new pair of PJ’s, boxes of medication, and two skirts and two t-shirts later from “Les Target.”  In my defense, they did have a spot sale and I landed a whopping discount, and although my wallet is now nearly $300.00 lighter, I did save  $110.00  with discounts.

I felt very self-righteous I marched past the food court and McDonalds and Grilled twice  as I entered and exited the Plaza.  Apart from the chocolate brownie and salad sandwich earlier in the day I had stayed on track.

Then, disaster struck.  I was driving along Aerodrome Road when the McDonalds jumped out and dragged the car into the parking bays. I was on auto pilot.   What could I do I was trapped.  I gave in with a vengeance.

The menu is too confusing in there these days. I went for what I knew. A double quarter pounder with cheese upsized meal. I ate the burger, and funnily enough, it didn’t taste the way I thought it would. It tasted like chemicals and the bun was bleh like light weight cardboard. I am not a fan of bread at the best of times.  I had three chips and drank all the Coke.  Things do go better with Coke especially when they are greasy. The grease cutting properties work like a dream. The large chips remained mostly uneaten and went in the bin.  Add $12.00 odd to my expenditure.

By the time I arrived home 45 minutes later, I had a pain under my ribs and felt like nothing I want to describe here. I unpacked and washed and dried the clothes and easy job in plus 30-degree heat and packed a bag to take to the hospital in the morning.  I felt like a train wreck.  I had a raging headache and just wanted to sleep, probably stress but I know what I had eaten added to my discomfort.

I went to visit my Mum who is in care and I completed all the normal jobs watering the veggies, feeding the dogs and catching up with well-wishers texts and messages.  Eventually, I gave in and took some Gaviscon for indigestion. and headed for bed.

I had a shocking night, fought with the sheet, the bed, the pillows, fan on, fan off and my indigestion. When I slept I had horrible, vivid dreams.  Outcomes no more Macca’s five minutes of enjoyment is not worth hours of yuk!  I woke this morning and my mouth feels like the bottom of a chook shed. You could say I learned my lesson.

At least I now know the effect of eating Maccas and won’t be doing that again in a hurry.  I have felt much better and certainly can notice the effects of a healthier diet without red meat or processed meats and preservatives.

I will check back in – in another eight weeks to see how things have progressed. I would like to try and decrease the amount of sugar I eat and it is not lollies or chocolates as I do not have a sweet tooth it is added sugar in foods that we do not even notice.

Going back to Uni will be a challenge as fast food is the go there, quick and easy. I  will have to take my meal but that means dragging a lunch bag with you as lockers are in very short demand.  Thought…It would be good if the brasserie had a student fridge and you could put your lunch in there to keep it cold.  They have microwaves on campus for student use so why not a big fridge.. hmmm.

See you all in eight weeks. stay safe and eat well

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. As a mature aged student, she completed a Bachelor of Creative Writing and is now a postgraduate student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC). Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la..

3 responses »

  1. Hi, I’ve been vego for decades and have realised that those starting out often don’t balance their protein intake which automatically results in meat cravings. If you can balance the protein with say Quoron products, nuts, pine nuts, etc the cravings evaporate. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

