TURNING POINT

Standard

  NEW YEAR RESOLUTIONS – These do nothing for me I always break them. Yesterday heralded the Southern Hemisphere’s  winter solstice.  Time to ring in the changes.

If I were writing an academic piece I would be castigated for using a cliche, however, this is my blog and I am rather fond of cliches if they are apt.

I attended a lecture yesterday and had a “light bulb” moment.  My muse has returned and the blockage cleared.  Thank you, Gary – it was a great lecture. Sometimes you hear things and they don’t really sink in.  The lecture yesterday is one I have heard, perhaps four or five times in differing formats. Every time I hear it I come away with something new. That says more about the skill of the lecturer than my listening skills.

I have been struggling to find the voice of my character in my novel.  There are times when I am spot on and times when I miss the mark completely.diaries

Recently I have discovered I love using epistolary devices – letters, diaries and newspaper clippings and I have come to a considered decision.  Taking a leaf out of my mentor’s work, I am going to become a bower bird and use the technique of bricolage. I will create these items and integrate them, using them as an entre to each chapter. In turn,  these provide background and verisimilitude to the work and helping to ground the voice in the chapter.

What does all of this have to do with resolutions and changing habits? I have arrived at a space where I need a formal structure to get through my day.   A roster has been drawn up and is now in place and it allows for writing, study,  household chores, exercise and other unanticipated events. In a word it is flexible. Written in bold across the top is NO GAMES & LIMIT SOCIAL MEDIA.

It will be interesting to see how I manage. My aim is one day at a time and to see what eventuates.  Buckle up folks it could be a bumpy ride.

About lindandsam

Linda is a poet and writer. As a mature aged student, she completed a Bachelor of Creative Writing and is now a postgraduate student at the University of the Sunshine Coast (USC). Published in the USC Storyboard, 2015. Self-published ‘Where is Gedhum Choekyi Nyima?’ For the Tibetan Children’s Village, Dharamsala, 1997. She lives in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and shares her life with her partner and their four-legged fur babies Hugo and Tashi-la..

One response »

Leave a Reply

